Burger @ Haché

In the beginning, there was the burger…
As an introduction, I feel it’s important to mention that when it comes to food, I have three commandments that I live by:

1. Eat Cake
2. Eat Ice-Cream
3. Eat Burgers

hence why any food post on this blog will most likely be fundamentally based on one of the above. If you follow me on instagram, you probably didn’t need me to spell that out as a small proportion of my ~1300 pics are of burgers, cakes and ice-cream. I mean…I only just realised this the other day. I’m that deeply entrenched in my own matrix. But really…if you cannot respect at least one of those commandments dont @ me, we will never see eye to eye, we can never be friends. I have spoken. Selah.

National Burger Day
So I have a tendency to pipe on about burgers a lot on Twitter, and on one of these occasions, the need for me to visit Haché was brought up on two separate occasions by the same person. He obviously really felt passionately about it, and I respect that; burger lover to burger lover. Some time after this, the fact that it was National Burger Day was brought to my attention, and I thought what better day to explore the alleged magnificence of Haché, than on a day when I could get 20% off my order [If I had a 4th food commandment, it would be ‘Get the bargain’ – it makes good food taste better, swearrrr down].

Expertise
Now I’ve been to a LOT of places, eaten a heck of a lot of burgers, I don’t know it all, but I know the difference between basic and quality ish. I have a fairly good grasp on where to send you if you don’t want to spend much money, and where to send you if you want an experience irrespective of cost. I knows dis. There’s no way one can go back to GBK when you’ve eaten at somewhere like Byron and basically paid the same price for a far more superior burger. Unless for convenience. I mean…don’t @ me.

Now up till the point of going to Haché, Byron was my favourite “gourmet” burger place to go. Scroll down, peep my pictures and surmise what you will about whether my mind was changed.

DSC_0565 DSC_0566 DSC_0570 DSC_0571 DSC_0575 DSC_0583DSC_0578

What did I eat?
I’m pretty much a traditionalist when it comes to burgers. Anything other than beef I scoff at and consider 2nd class because they usually are in taste, presentation, consistency, everything. However, I had been sold such a dream about Haché, when I got there I decided to YOLO and go for the Rosemary Lamb (http://www.hacheburgers.com/menu/), because any place that can make me appreciate a lamb burger must have a proper chef in the kitchen. Lamb is one of those meats I find that 70% of the people who cook it, don’t know what they’re doing. To be honest!

Verdict
Basically yeh…that’s the best lamb burger I have ever had. To add context though, it may be the only lamb burger I have ever had so make what you will of that lol. But I found the garnish to be so complimentary to the burger, that I didn’t even have to add ketchup. I am a ketchup fiend, I will add it to anything, even rice (desperate uni times when no stew was at hand), so for me not to add ketchup, not to even pick anything out of this burger, not tomato, not sour gherkins, not the whole garden foliage aka lettuce (-_-)…I was super happy with it. The texture was perfect and a pleasant variation from feeling like you’re chewing on elastic bands. And hell yes to brioche buns which I’m always opting for recently. They complement eating burgers much better than their normal seeded counterparts.

I’d give this burger an 8.5 out of 10 (only because that still small voice within me says that with ketchup it would’ve been a 10, lmao). The sweet potatoes fries were a bit devoid of sweetness, which was a tad disappointing but not the end of the world. They look pretty though haha. And another point to make…is that Haché burgers are similar in price to GBK burgers. I rest my case. *credits*

Recommendations
I need more places to eat good burgers. In the UK. London preferably. Enter my comments please and thanks.

Yours Truly

xx

Leave a Reply

