Freewrites 5

It’s been 4 years since I started this blog. Ordinarily that would be a cause for celebration but I just have so many…

…Questions

When will a black body be equal to a white one?

When will justice deign to include every race and not just one?

When will we be allowed the right to express our fury, anger and frustration without being labelled as the ‘savages’ that they always knew we were?

Why do they always require the expression of our pain to be muted, strangled & DIGNIFIED?

When will our inevitable and human flaws stop being referenced to as a supporting reason of why we got what we deserved?

When will the actions of one of us and only in cases when it happens to be bad, stop being used as the measurement of all of us?

When will selective historical amnesia desert its position as the breastplate of righteousness for every racist ignorant white person?

How much institutional & non-institutional prejudice and hatred are we meant to bear?

How much of our blood needs to be spilt?

How many of us need to be violated and killed?

How much more are we to accept and take?

 

…Reasons

Taken from the comments on this article: http://edition.cnn.com/2014/08/06/justice/michigan-boy-stabbing-death/index.html?iref=obinsite

And you can find many of this same ilk of comments under any article relating to black people and alleged or confirmed crime.

NO MATTER WHAT THEY SAY THOUGH…

FOR THOSE MOMENTS WHEN IT BECOMES ALTOGETHER TOO MUCH. FOR WHEN YOU ARE BRIMMING WITH FURY. FOR WHEN YOU ARE JUST TOO DAMN TIRED TO FIGHT ANYMORE…

Galatians 3 v 28

There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.

Mark 12 v 31

The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.

James 3 v 18

Peacemakers who sow in peace reap a harvest of righteousness.

Luke 6 v 28

But I say to you who hear, love your enemies, do good to those who hate youbless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you.

 

…Explanations

So much going on in the world right now – Boko Haram, Chibok, Ebola, Gaza, Israel, Isis, Syria, Iraq, Ukraine, Russia, Ferguson, Michael Brown, post-racial America, MH370, MH17…and a whole heap more. Destruction, murder, death, war, terrorism, racism, privilege, abuse…you name it. So much to comment on.

I call myself “The Commentator Speaks”, but lately I haven’t been able to do this. I’ve been finding the world and its devastations pretty overwhelming. Not knowing where to even begin. It feels like the whole earth is in childbirth and right now are the contractions. The labour pains are on the horizon, but no-one knows what exactly these contractions and pains are heralding in. More horror…or relief?

I am full of opinions. And usually this would be the place I would express them, but these days I’m caught between wanting to express them, absolute fury, and not wanting to give the deluge of useless trolls and/or stupid people something to play a little game of back and forth with. Sometimes you have to weigh that cost up as a writer. Lately I’ve been coming to the conclusion that it’s not worth it; the various issues being so contentious, the various discourses on them already in existence being so numerous, the deluge of ignorant comments I’ve seen in response to them being so utterly disgusting and hideous, the truth about these situations trickling out as slowly as soaked wet clothes dry. What is truth and lies anymore? I sure don’t believe everything I read on the internet. If I wasn’t there, what can I really say with that much authority? So for now I’m confining myself to 140 characters. To Twitter. Because it’s more forgiving of misinformation, of hasty conclusions, of flash rage, confusion and horror, and because it’s easier to delete than a blog post.

So if you want my opinion…that’s where it’ll stay for now. There I will talk freely, unapologetically and express opinion based on the best of the knowledge I have at the time. You can discuss with me there if you feel so inclined. I reserve the right to respond or not respond though.

Feel free to join me: @TCSpeaksBlog

Yours Truly

xx

2 thoughts on “Freewrites 5

  1. This is so good, loved your thought process here. I have chosen not to comment on Ferguson at all, or anything like that….because I don’t have any answers. It’s hard for me to understand fully a plight, that I am not experiencing, and to sufficiently comment on it without sounding superior or condescending. So, thank you for this xx

    • Thank you. Yeh I understand your stance completely. And it’s true with regards to sounding condescending and superior perhaps to those right in the mix. Although I think everyone is entitled to point out disparities and injustice when they are clearly present in any situation. X

Leave a Reply

