Freewrites 2

A Pensive Moment

“I go into the favelas and give them something to lose; electricity, running water, schoolrooms for their kids. And for that taste of a better life….I own them”

A quote by one of the gangsters in Fast Five; I was watching it the other day. It was so deep it made me think a lot about some things, namely Custard Creams. Do you remember when you were small and they were the biscuit of biscuits? If you had them in your lunchbox and shared them, you were the don of the playground. For that taste of a better/supreme biscuit, you owned your playmates. What you said went. You were omnipotent.

Well…some have Custard Creams, and others have Rivita with one slice of Kwik Save ham sandwiched between on special occasions. Butter? Touch and go.

My own testimony was Rivita.

I don’t really want to talk about it.

Woman Thou Art Loosed

I was walking along Brixton High Street one day, and I saw a couple (who appeared to be Eritrean), walking in harmony, arm in arm, murmuring what I presume were sweet nothings to each other as they walked along.

Seconds later, the woman calmly removed her arm from the clasp of her boyfriend, snatched his phone out his hand, flung it on the floor where it unceremoniously smashed into pieces against the concrete, while she carried on walking at normal speed ahead without a single glance back.

As I passed the guy scrambling to collect the pieces of his phone in a daze of bewilderment and confusion, I looked down.

The phone appeared to have been a Blackberry.

Good woman.

I Dare You To Shake My Hand

When I exit a toilet at the same time as somebody else, I regularly hold an unspoken competition with them, to see who can wash their hands the longest and most thoroughly. The use of soap earns extra points.

I don’t like the fact that I’m always winning this game.

Living Legends

About 5 years ago, I met a woman (probably in her mid-late 30s) who had named her 7/8 year-old twin sons, Tupac and Tyrese.

I have nothing more to add to this story. I hope they are doing well in school.

*******************************************************************************

Yours Truly

xx

One thought on “Freewrites 2

Leave a Reply

